Quick Ref
Vice Provost


Melina Hale is the William Rainey Harper Professor in Organismal Biology and Anatomy and the College.
As Vice Provost, Melina is engaged in a range of initiatives that support faculty and their work, and is the central liaison to the University’s emeriti. She is also the office’s point person on initiatives in the College. Melina is the Provost’s Office lead on administrative improvements projects, working with faculty members and various offices of the University to modernize administrative systems and improve policies and processes. In partnership with faculty and other academic leadership, she helps consider a broad-based biomedical strategy for the University and supports the Marine Biological Laboratory, Chicago Biomedical Consortium, and the Microbiome Center. Her team in the Provost’s Office includes Ingrid Gould (Associate Provost), Cassandra Dunn (Associate Director), and Marilyn Willis (Administrative Assistant).
Melina is a member of the Committee of Neurobiology and the Committee on Computational Neuroscience. She is also a Fellow at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1998 and joined the faculty in 2002. At the University of Chicago, Melina’s service has included terms on the Council of the Senate, Council of the College and on the Board of the Laboratory Schools. She was also a Dean for Faculty Affairs in the Biological Sciences Division.
Melina’s research examines how the brain evolves and how the brain works with the body’s musculoskeletal mechanics to generate movement and respond to sensory input from the environment. She collaborates with engineers to explore biological models that inform the design of engineered underwater propulsion systems. Melina was a National Academies/Howard Hughes Medical Institute Education Fellow and received a National Science Foundation CAREER award. At the University of Chicago she has received a Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prize for Excellence in Teaching and a Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring.