Quick Ref


The Faculty Committee on the Quality of Academic Life highlighted concerns about the administrative burden on faculty and those sentiments, as well as broader concerns about the quality of administrative services, have been echoed in forums and other discussions with faculty and staff over the previous year.  While progress has been made in providing better outreach to the community on administrative processes and changes, mechanisms for input still need to be better formalized and strengthened. To support ongoing improvement to administrative services and to provide an additional mechanism for receiving input and responding to faculty and staff concerns, Provost Diermeier established the Faculty Working Group on Administrative Service Improvement.

The Working Group will review administrative rules, policies, processes, and practices that faculty consider to be onerous, outdated or otherwise interfere with academic efforts without clear need or benefit and will work with the administration to find ways to simplify, change, clarify or eliminate them. 

To submit an issue or concern for the Working Group's attention, please use this form. Submissions can be made anonymously, however, contact information would be useful for follow-up questions and to report back on the status and response to the issue.  

Members of the Faculty Working Group on Administrative Service Improvement are: 


Omri Ben-Shahar Law School
Dan Black Harris School of Public Policy
Fred Donner Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Liz Grove Committee on Neurobiology
Mark Hansen Political Science
Will Howell Harris School of Public Policy
Heinrich Jaeger Physics
Diane Lauderdale Public Health Sciences
Jeanne Marsh School of Social Service Administration
David Meltzer Medicine
Emily Osborn History
Stuart Rowan Institute for Molecular Engineering
Theo van den Hout Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Mark Zmijewski Chicago Booth School of Business
Melina Hale, Staff Office of the Provost
Cassandra Dunn, Staff Office of the Provost


Currently active subgroups:

  • Institutional Review Board – Omri Ben-Shahar, Diane Lauderdale, Jeanne Marsh
    Driven in part by the proposed changes to the Federal Policy for the Protection of Human Subjects (the “Common Rule”), the IRB Subgroup is advising on review protocols for different categories of human subjects research and ways to streamline the process.
  • Appointments & Promotions – Dan Black, Elizabeth Grove, Theo van den Hout
    The subgroup on appointments and promotions is advising on administrative support for appointment, promotion, and tenure processes, including for short-term, repeated appointments and compliant searches. The group is also advising on academic hiring systems.
  • Research Administration – Heinrich Jaeger, David Meltzer, Stuart Rowan
    The subgroup meets regularly with URA to provide feedback on changes to the research administration structure and support model. A current focus area is faculty priorities for post-award grants management.