Deans, directors, and department chairs lead their respective academic units, including divisions, centers and institutes, departments, and the College. They represent their faculties to the president, provost, and other governing bodies and work with their faculty members to develop, propose, and implement program and policy initiatives.


Mark Anderson

Dean, Division of the Biological Sciences

Madhav V. Rajan

Dean, Booth School of Business

John W. Boyer

Dean, The College

Seth Green

Dean, Graham School of Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies

Ethan Bueno de Mesquita

Interim Dean, Harris School of Public Policy

Anne Robertson

Dean, Humanities Division

Matthew Tirrell

Dean, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering

Thomas J. Miles

Dean, Law School

Deborah Gorman-Smith

Dean, Crown Family School of Social Work, Policy, and Practice

Amanda Woodward

Dean, Division of the Social Sciences

James Theodore Robinson

Dean, Divinity School

Angela V. Olinto

Dean, Physical Sciences Division

Biological Sciences Division

P. Allan Klock

Chair, Anesthesia & Critical Care

Geoffrey Greene

Chair, The Ben May Department for Cancer Research

Tobin R. Sosnick

Chair, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Stefano Allesina

Chair, Ecology and Evolution

Debra Stulberg

Interim Chair, Family Medicine

Carole Ober

Chair, Human Genetics

Everett E. Vokes

Chair, Medicine

Shabaana Khader

Chair, Microbiology

Jonathan P. Staley

Chair, Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology

S. Murray Sherman

Chair, Neurobiology

Bakhtiar Yamini

Interim Chair, Neurological Surgery

Shyam Prabhakaran

Chair, Neurology

Ernst Lengyel

Chair, Obstetrics & Gynecology

Seenu Hariprasad

Interim Chair, Ophthalmology and Visual Science

Michael Coates

Chair, Organismal Biology & Anatomy

Tessa Balach

Interim Chair, Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation Medicine

Daniel A. Arber

Chair, Pathology

John Cunningham

Chair, Pediatrics

Eric Schwartz

Chair, Pharmacological and Physiological Sciences

Daniel Yohanna

Interim Chair, Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience

Diane Sperling Lauderdale

Chair, Public Health Sciences

Ralph R. Weichselbaum

Chair, Radiation and Cellular Oncology

Aytekin Oto

Chair, Radiology

Jeffrey B. Matthews

Chair, Surgery

Division of the Humanities

Niall Atkinson

Chair, Art History

Daniel Morgan

Chair, Cinema & Media Studies

Clifford Ando

Chair, Classics

Mark Payne

Chair, Comparative Literature

Hoyt Long

Chair, East Asian Languages and Civilizations

Deborah Nelson

Chair, English Language and Literature

David Wellbery

Chair, Germanic Studies

Christopher Kennedy

Interim Chair, Linguistics

Lawrence Zbikowski

Chair, Music

Ahmed El Shamsy

Interim Chair, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Matthew Boyle

Chair, Philosophy

Alison James

Chair, Romance Languages and Literatures

William Nickell

Chair, Slavic Languages and Literatures

Gary Tubb

Chair, South Asian Languages and Civilizations

Matthew Jackson

Chair, Visual Arts

Division of the Physical Sciences

Joshua Frieman

Chair, Astronomy and Astrophysics

Viresh Rawal

Chair, Chemistry

Michael Franklin

Chair, Computer Science

Andrew Campbell

Chair, Geophysical Sciences

Shmuel Weinberger

Chair, Mathematics

Peter Littlewood

Chair, Physics

Matthew Stephens

Chair, Statistics

Division of the Social Sciences

Elisabeth S. Clemens

Chair, Anthropology

Gabriel Lear

Chair, The John U. Nef Committee on Social Thought

Jennifer Cole

Chair, Comparative Human Development

Adrian Johns

Chair, History

Rob Shimer

Chair, Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics

William Howell

Chair, Political Science

Katherine Kinzler

Chair, Psychology

Cathy Cohen

Chair, Race, Diaspora, and Indigeneity

Andreas Glaeser

Chair, Sociology