The Office of the Provost partners with deans and department chairs to identify and nominate faculty for national and international awards, fellowships, and limited opportunities.   
The University's distinguished faculty are regularly awarded the most prestigious honors by academic and professional societies, foundations, and civic organizations. For their innovative research, transformational discoveries, and high-caliber scholarship, University of Chicago faculty have been recognized by the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine. Nobel Prize, Pulitzer Prize, and the Wolf Prize, among others. 
Limited Opportunities
These are highly selective awards such as the Searle Scholars Program and the Mellon Foundation’s New Directions Fellowships for which the university may only submit a fixed number of nominations. The Office of the Provost, often in conjunction with the Foundation and Corporate Relations office, solicits preliminary submissions from the relevant schools and divisions across campus and manages the selection of final nominees through an internal review process.