Quick Ref


Diversity Leadership Faculty Award

The Diversity Leadership Faculty Award seeks to recognize University faculty and staff members who display leadership in fostering diversity both on campus and within the surrounding community and to highlight, in concert with the University of Chicago Alumni Board of Governors, the contributions of alumni who advance the cause of justice and equality in our community and society.

Graduate Teaching and Mentoring Award

The Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring recognizes regular, full-time faculty members in the four divisions and the Divinity School for exemplary graduate teaching. The awards are presented at Spring Convocation.

Laing Prize

The Gordon J. Laing Prize is awarded annually by the University of Chicago Press to the faculty author, editor, or translator of a book published in the previous three years that brings the Press the greatest distinction.

Quantrell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

In 1938, an anonymous gift to the University created an endowment, the purpose of which was unique in American higher education: a monetary award to be presented annually to faculty members in recognition of their excellence in teaching undergraduates. The donor’s anonymity technically prevailed for more than a decade, but in 1952, University Trustee Ernest Quantrell added to his gift, consented to be acknowledged as the donor, and named the award for his parents, Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell.

The Llewellyn and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award for Undergraduate Teaching is believed to be the nation’s oldest prize for undergraduate teaching. The award is based on letters of nomination from students, and is among the most treasured by faculty.

Booth Prize 

The Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prize for Excellence in Teaching was established in 1991 in honor of Wayne C. Booth, the George M. Pullman Distinguished Service Professor in English Language & Literature and the College. Students and faculty members submit nominations, and the winners each receive a $2,000 cash award. The awards parallel the Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, which recognize distinguished teachers on the faculty.