Quick Ref

Clarification of guidelines for union-related communications

To: Members of Faculty and Other Academic Appointees
From: Daniel Diermeier, Provost, and Kim Taylor, Vice President and General Counsel
Re: Clarification of guidelines for union-related communications
Date: May 12, 2017
A number of faculty members have asked for clarification about how federal labor law affects their participation in campus discussions about graduate student unionization. In particular, there is a common misconception that saying nothing at all, or expressing no opinion, is the advisable route.

Invitation to Staff Forums on the Budget Process

Dear Colleagues,
As a follow-up to the message below, and in response to the request for additional opportunities to provide an update on the implementation of the new budget process and to receive staff feedback, the following dates and times have been added:
  • Tuesday, May 16 from 3-4pm at the Knapp Center for Biomedical Discovery, Auditorium 1103
  • Wednesday, May 31 from 4-5pm at Kent Hall, Room 120

Diversity and Inclusion Initiative

To: Members of the University Community
From: Daniel Diermeier, Provost
Date: May 10, 2017
Subject: Diversity and Inclusion Initiative
In the winter and spring quarters, following the 2016 Climate Survey Reports and the Diversity Advisory Council’s recommendations, the University held campus-wide discussions about creating an inclusive campus climate. We are grateful to all those who completed the climate survey and for the honest and sometimes challenging discussions in which many of you participated.

Discussions Around Graduate Student Unionization

To: Graduate Students and Faculty
From: President Robert J. Zimmer and Provost Daniel Diermeier
Subject: Discussions Around Graduate Student Unionization
Date: May 9, 2017
Yesterday, the American Federation of Teachers (AFT) and the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) filed a petition with the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) seeking to represent graduate students in multiple divisions and schools of the University of Chicago.